Skip to content

Sweet….so sweet or Happy Birthday through tears

March 21, 2013

It is my birthday today and I have long ago decided that birthdays for those in their 50’s and over, are an over rated affair.  I don’t care much for celebrating my own birthday and I told my hubby a couple of years ago that I don’t need gifts.  I usually buy myself anything I want and he has always gotten me “mushy” cards and taken me to dinner.  Enough for me.

Today I received an abundance of lovely cards from friends and family, many wonderful facebook messages and a butter bell (do you know what that is?) in addition to some lovely flowers.   I also received a birthday card from my dear hubby. He bought it during a trip to Target with me a day or two ago and had hidden it in his drawer.  He has generally not written a note in my cards….just signed them Love you or I love you or I love you, always.  This year he decided to write to me what I have meant to him.  He has great difficulty putting his thoughts into written words these days.  He can no longer really e-mail more than a line or two and writing a paragraph is nearly an overwhelming task.  I saw in the wastebasket that he had “practiced” writing several notes to me and had discarded them…probably after copying the one he thought was best into my card.  It broke my heart to see how much effort he put into writing to tell me that I was the most important thing in his life and to read that despite the dire predictions of some who said we would never “last”, he was so happy that we had been married well over two decades…..and that he treasured every single day with me. He wrote that having a daughter with me was a lasting and wonderful tribute to our love and he was so glad that we had chosen to have her together. 

I think this may be the best gift he has ever given me. Less costly by far, but infinitely better than chocolate diamonds, better than Waterford crystal and better than a 2 carat tennis bracelet.  Written in halting words, with errors present, he poured out his heart to me in that birthday note.  Leaving me with the knowledge that what I do for him does not go unnoticed or unappreciated, leaving me with the clear understanding that he loves me and wishes more than anything that he could one again be the strong and capable man he once was….for me.  Not for himself….but so that my burdens were not so heavy.  Such sweet, sweet words….such a wonderful sentiment…..so much love expressed with such great physical and mental effort. 

Need I tell you that my tears flowed hot and plentiful ? It was truly the best gift I could have received.  For I know that next year, he may not be able to write at all.  In years to come, he will may no longer know me.  But I know for today, that he loves me, appreciates me and treasures our life together.  I often write that I am blessed.  I say that again today. I am blessed with loving children, kind friends and a genuinely caring husband who loves me beyond what I may deserve.

And today, through tears, I once again say I choose to be OK.  I choose to tackle this hitchhiker Lewy Body, head on!  We will rejoice in the goodness of life and appreciate the small things.  Through our faith, our family and the love we share, we will continue this journey together with as much grace and courage as we can muster. For me, I will save my  birthday card to remind myself how my sweet husband loved and appreciated me and how touchingly he expressed that in 2013.

For you, I ask that you tell the people you love how important they are to you.  In fact, next time you sign a card, write a note expressing your appreciation for the friendship or love you share. Take time to enjoy the small things in life….the beauty of a sunset, the sweet curve of your child’s cheek, the wrinkled hand of the elderly woman who is seated by you in church.  Because life is really best lived with true appreciation for the blessings you have been given.  May your blessings be many and may you take time to recognize them.

 

 

From → Uncategorized

12 Comments
  1. Sarah permalink

    Love that you love each other with such deepness and meaning.

  2. Kay S. permalink

    What a beautiful and special birthday gift you received from your sweet husband. What more could anyone ask for? Love and hugs to both of you as you celebrate your special day.

  3. It was….the best…gift…I have ever gotten. Love to you and the boys!

  4. Helen permalink

    Telling someone today you love them and appreciate them is the most important thing you can do. You are so right. What a wonderful gift you got today!

  5. It was a wonderful gift…maybe my best ever. Hugs to you. Hope you are well.

  6. Susan I Mazique permalink

    Nothing could have been better than that gift.I have some idea how hard it can be to do something like that , as you know from our letters. Evan when he can’t tell you anymore you will know he loves you and so will he.

  7. Alicia permalink

    What an amazing and special gift. It is so wonderful know that you are truly loved and appreciated by the people who mean the most to you! Love you 🙂

  8. Zita Pitcher permalink

    What a beautiful BD blessing. Both of you give to one another whole heartedly and are an inspiration to me and so many. Prayers and hugs. ❤

  9. Thank you always for all your love and support!

Leave a comment